Fisher Building

Big Spring, Texas

This is a unique project that involves three interconnected buildings built at different times. The oldest is the Fisher Building (1884), which was followed by a northern addition (1905) and later a western addition (1909).  

All three buildings use load-bearing masonry walls with interior wood framing. Decorative metal ceilings are present throughout, and there are skylights in the 1905 and 1909 additions. Typical of early 20th-century storefronts, historic photographs depict a long canopy spanning the 1884 and 1905 facades. A vault was also found in the 1909 addition, though its original location is believed to have been in the 1884 Fisher Building.   

After Architexas’s rehabilitation, this collection of three buildings will have stores (mercantile or retail) on the first floors of all the buildings which will provide space for three separate tenants. Additionally, a gallery space on the second floor will connect the 1884 Fisher Building and 1905 addition.     

Architexas is working on an exterior restoration and interior rehabilitation. Planned interventions include all-new structural systems, roof, code-complaint second egress stair, sprinklers, MEP systems. interior finishes, and reconstructed historic windows and storefronts.  

  • Full architectural services
  • Tax credit consultation